Shilin Night Market

2016 Nov 19th

After getting off from Jiantan station, I was a little lost. I walked towards what was marked “Shilin night market” on the map, but it was much more than just food; it had tons of  clothes, accessories, and other items for sale.

I managed to get to the very crowded street that had some street food stalls. I have a feeling that I probably should have gone to a different street, but unfortunately I couldn’t find any good map or directions about this place that night either on my phone or from surroundings.

I was very tired after a red-eye flight the previous night, and I arrived late, so I only got two items.

First, a bun with pork inside. The line was fairly long and I had to wait a while, about 30 minutes if I remember right. It was very juicy and flavourful, and extremely hot (temperature-wise). I wish the bread was a little thinner, but the filling was amazing. I bit into it carelessly and got some of the greasy juice on my shirt. It was NTD 50 (~ USD 1.5).

The “cube steaks” appeared to be one of the most popular items in the night market as I saw several stalls selling them. The meat wasn’t top quality but still very decent. It’s fun to watch the meat being cooked as well. They have different seasonings and I chose “specialty”. It was very spicy and a little overpowering, and I wished I got something else. NTD 100 (~ USD 3)

By the time I was done I had missed the last subway back into the city, so I took Uber back to the hostel. It was only around USD 5 for the ride back, which was not bad at all.

I really wish I did more research of the area before. If you go, make sure to look up where exactly you’re going before!

 

If you’d like to see more posts from this trip, please visit here!

Leave a Reply

