Wyndham Ha Long

2016 Nov 23 – 2016 Nov 27

  • Room: Deluxe Bay View Room
  • Price: USD 96 per night (or USD 128 per night without promotion)
  • Location: Close to Bãi Cháy Bridge, but far from other hotels
  • Atmosphere: Clean, new, and quiet

Booking

They had stay 4 pay 3 promotion going on, so after a few exchange of emails, I got discount and got free upgrade to a better room that was 100 square feet larger than the one I was going to book. It also included breakfast which was amazing. I’ll be putting up a separate post for the hotel’s restaurant.

 

Room

The room was very spacious, and the beds were large. It felt very modern overall.

The bathroom was also very spacious, but I wish the toilet and the shower were separated somewhat. I used the bathtub and I watched the TV in the bedroom area, which was cool. I had the curtain down most of the time though. The amenities felt “complete”, as in there was everything you would need during your stay, from toothbrush to cotton pads.

The view from the room was amazing, especially at night when the bridge lit up.

Facilities

The gym had an amazing view to the bridge. I ran for a bit in the morning and it was mostly empty. There were not that many equipments though. I think there were fewer than 10.

The pool was connected to the gym and was pretty fancy. The water was too cold so I just used the chairs.

 

Location

It was kind of in the middle of nowhere. There was a small cart that sold snacks and drinks outside the hotel, but there wasn’t really anything for a good 5 minute stretch when I walked South from the hotel. But then again, Ha long bay doesn’t have that many things going on in the first place, especially around that area. When I had to get around I either took a cab or got on the motorbike taxi (you just ride at the back of the motorbike), which was actually pretty fun.

Getting to the hotel from Noi Bai airport wasn’t that great. There is no real public transportation and the shuttle from Hanoi to Ha Long bay left early morning, so I had to hire a car. It was USD 161 for Noi Bai airport -> Ha Long bay + Ha Long bay -> Hanoi. The car rides were about 3 hours each way. The distance itself wasn’t that bad but the road conditions were terrible.

 

Thoughts

The hotel was really nice and the service was great. I think the rates were good because (besides this being in Vietnam) most tourists sleep on the cruise ships when they visit Ha Long bay, not in hotels. This was a brand new hotel so they did not have spa service (so I went to a different hotel). It was also far from restaurants in the area. I had a good experience at the hotel, but if I go back to Ha Long bay and have to stay at a hotel I would probably try somewhere else, such as Novotel, which seemed much more popular.

 

 

If you’d like to see more posts from this trip, please visit here!

One Comment Add yours

  1. maxymilano says:

    Nice hotel… the pool is great…

Leave a Reply

