Tsim Chai Kee Noodle

2016 Nov 30

  • Visited: Weekday evening (5 PM)
  • Ate: King Prawn Wonton Noodle
  • Price: HKD 28 (~ USD 3.5)
  • Tip: The portion is really small.
  • Link: Tripadvisor

Restaurant culture in HK was interesting. A lot of shops were very crowded and I got to sit down with complete strangers, more often than alone.

Tsim Chai Kee Noodle is pretty popular but I went early so I didn’t have to wait. But I still didn’t get my own table so I got to sit with a senior Asian man, who was mostly quiet.

The food came out blazing fast. The wontons were great. The shrimp tasted very fresh and the texture was amazing. The broth itself I was not a huge fan of. The man sitting across from me was using some sauce on the table so I asked what it was, and he told me it was vinegar. It did help reduce the greasiness of the soup.

Thoughts

It tasted great and it was very cheap. The restaurant was clean, which I loved. However, it didn’t amaze me to a degree where I would go to that neighbourhood again just to get the noodles again. But if you’re nearby, drop by! It’s close to Man Mo temple. The portion was pretty small so if you are starving you should either go for a second bowl or second dinner.

Leave a Reply

