EVA Air, HKG-TPE-SFO

2016 Dec 3

I already wrote about flying eva air to Taipei, so this won’t be as descriptive.

Hong Kong International Airport

It was huge. I first got refund on my transit card (octopus card), and then checked in. I did some shopping (mostly to buy snacks for coworkers) and headed to a lounge I had access to with my priority pass membership. I think they had a limit on the number of guests at given time, so I waited close to half an hour. I didn’t have much time left when I got in, so I rested for a bit drinking soy milk and headed toward the gate, which took half an hour to get to. To my dismay, I later found out that there was another lounge I had access to much closer to the gate.

 

HKG -> TPE

The flight to Taipei was pretty uneventful. The duration was less than 2 hours but nonetheless I was fed. They only had one menu, deep-fried fish in tomato sauce, which tasted good. I was also given seaweed snack with buckwheat, which was surprisingly good and addictive.

 

Taoyuen International Airport

I had a bit of time to kill, so I went into another lounge. There was a 24-hour plaza premium lounge, and I sat at one of the cubicles, drinking hot chocolate and catching up on my journal. They had some food but I wasn’t too hungry.

TPE -> SFO

It was a long flight but it was bearable. I watched 3 movies because I couldn’t sleep. 2 were Korean movies and I cannot, for the life of me, remember the last one. Oh well. I guess it wasn’t that good. The food served on the flight, again, was good.

Deep-fried pork cutlet was good.

Savoury porridge with shredded pork and mushroom was really good. I think this was better than the one I had on the flight to Taipei.

 

San Francisco Airport

I got to use global entry for the first time, and I loved it. As a visa-holding non-American, my line at American airports is usually very long and tiring. This time, I walked straight up to a kiosk, pressed here and there and got my fingerprints taken, and walked out. I had some biscuits and tea in my bag so I went to baggage control and the officer gave me a look of why-are-you-here and let me go.

Leave a Reply

