Kyoto Restaurant – Tonkatsu Wako

2017 Mar 30

 

It was so hard to get there! On the map it just showed somewhere inside Kyoto station. Kyoto station was connected to many buildings, and this restaurant was located on the 11th floor of the Isetan department store, called “cube”. This section had a lot of different restaurants and many of them had long lines. Tonkatsu Wako had about 20 people in line when I got there. Fortunately they had chairs in front of the restaurants for guests waiting in line.

2017-03-30 19.52.58

 

Their plastic models of food were well made.

2017-03-30 20.19.36

 

I ordered katsu nabe gohan – pork cutlet soaked in soy-based sweet soup and eggs. It came about 10 minutes after ordering.

2017-03-30 20.37.13

It was extremely hot I actually burned my mouth. The meat was a little overcooked but the dish was good! The broth was beautiful, somewhat similar to udon broth, and the egg was so fluffy. The miso soup had tiny clams inside, but it tasted pretty clean and not fishy.

I was waiting for the bill forever before I realized that it was inside a tiny shelf under the table. I was glad I didn’t get to ask the wait staff (who never really came back after the food).

 

Thoughts

I visited here after researching on Tripadvisor, so my expectation was on the high side. The food was good but I’m not sure if it was worth the wait, especially because I was starving. But if you have never tried the cutlet-in-soup dish, I highly recommend it.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

