Crab Restaurant in Kinosaki – Inaba Sengyo

2017 Apr 1

  • Visited: Saturday 12 PM
  • Ordered: #21
  • Price: JPY 1300 (~ USD 12)
  • Tip:
    • Cash-only
    • No English. They call your number in Japanese so it might be a good idea to get some help from Google Translator while waiting.
  • Link: Tripadvisor

 

I went in after some searching on the web. It was known as a good-value restaurant for Kinosaki snow crabs. It’s on the way from the Kinosaki Onsen station to the public baths. The atmosphere was very casual. I even had to get water myself.

2017-04-01 13.49.17

2017-04-01 12.03.21

 

They had some pictures in front of the door, but no English. I ordered #12 from the vending machine, which looked like one of the recommended dishes.

2017-04-01 12.01.04

 

I then handed the ticket to one of the staffs and he gave me half of the ticket back. There weren’t many tables inside but luckily I didn’t have to wait for a seat.

2017-04-01 12.04.55

2017-04-01 12.03.17

 

The food came about 15 minutes after, and they called out the number in Japanese. Luckily I did learn some Japanese prior to this trip which became very handy.

It looked very close to the picture on the door. The miso soup was very good. Salmon roe had an interesting texture which I was not a fan of, but the the crab meat was good, despite being cold. It was slightly sweet. I loved how the shell was cut open, making it very convenient to eat. Often eating crab feels more like a labour than eating food. Rice also had some crab meat in it.

2017-04-01 12.14.53

2017-04-01 12.15.51

 

Thoughts

It went at the end of the snow crab season (Nov-Mar), so it was probably not as fresh. I’m glad I tried it but I probably would eat somewhere else if I go back to Kinosaki. I heard that the hotels here serve snow crab during the season, so that would be a good alternative for people staying overnight.

Leave a Reply

