Himeji Castle

2017 Apr 3

  • Visited: Monday 9:20 AM
  • Price: JPY 800 (~ USD 7)
  • Tip:
    • The original price is JPY 1000 but I got a discount with Kansai One Pass. They also accept credit card.
    • You have to take shoes off inside, so socks would be a good idea.
  • Link: Tripadvisor

Getting There

There is a shinkansen (high-speed train) from Kyoto to Himeji. Unfortunately, the train pass I had didn’t cover shinkansen from Kyoto to Shin-Osaka. So I ended up taking a regular train from Kyoto to Shin-Osaka, then shinkansen from Shin-Osaka to Himeji. As of writing one-way shinkansen ticket from Kyoto to Himeji is JPY 5270 (~ USD 47). It took me about an hour and 20 minutes from Kyoto station to Himeji station. Shinkansen train was clean and spacious.

The castle itself was about half an hour walk from the train station. I was originally going to take a bus but I couldn’t figure out which bus to take.

Himeji castle

The exterior looked pretty for a castle that was more of a strategic fort. It was interesting how the whole main building was sitting on top of some tall stone base.

2017-04-03 09.17.23

2017-04-03 09.51.15

2017-04-03 09.56.21

 

I had to take my shoes off inside the building, and I was given a plastic bag to store them. The hardwood floor felt rally nice.

2017-04-03 09.32.27

2017-04-03 09.46.00

 

There were some other buildings inside the complex, and there were also cherry blossom trees.

2017-04-03 10.01.47

2017-04-03 10.03.09

 

And I also spotted a ninja!

2017-04-03 10.07.54

 

I walked pretty quickly because I didn’t have much time and I was done with the tour in one hour.

 

 

Thoughts

It looked very unique from the outside, and due to lack of time I didn’t read much of the description. If I knew more about architecture or Japanese history it would have been a much more interesting visit. There wasn’t much else to do in Himeji so I left the city right away and headed to Kobe for some steak.

Leave a Reply

