Osaka Restaurant – Okonomiyaki Chitose

2017 Apr 2

  • Visited: Sunday 5:30 PM
  • Ordered: Mix okonomiyaki, Asahi super-dry 500 mL
  • Price: JPY 1300 (~ USD 12)
  • Tip:
    • Go early if you don’t want to wait. There are only 12 seats inside.
    • Cash only
  • Link: Tripadvisor

 

Okonomiyaki Chitose was a okonomiyaki-special restaurant tucked in a residential neighbourhood near Shin-imamiya train station. Okonomiyaki is a Japanese pancake that originated in Osaka.

It was my favourite restaurant during my trip. The service, the food, the atmosphere, the price were all amazing.

2017-04-02 17.39.08

2017-04-02 17.41.55

2017-04-02 17.42.54

 

There was a line in front of me but fortunately I got in with no wait. I shared a table with a Dutch couple and we chatted about traveling in Japan.

There was a man who was making the food at the counter, and a female waitress/hostess. She spoke fluent English and was amazingly friendly! She even taught us how to eat okonomiyaki the Osaka way. Instead of chopsticks, you eat off of tiny metal spatula which you also use for cutting the okonomiyaki.

2017-04-02 18.25.25

 

The beer came first. It was my first time having it although they do have these in North America. It was very refreshing after a long day.

2017-04-02 17.48.30

 

Okonomiyaki came after about 20 minute wait. It was beautiful. Absolutely amazing. All the seafood inside tasted really fresh and the sauce (sticky sweet soy sauce + mayo?) was great. The balance of everything was just perfect. I had one in Toronto (in an Okonomiyaki-only restaurant), and this one beat it by a huge margin. The portion did not look large but I was comfortably full by the end. The beer probably played a role though.

2017-04-02 18.01.44

 

I was given a cute eraser on the way out of the restaurant. I think it was just some souvenir for the guests.

 

Thoughts

The restaurant itself felt very local (small, in a residential area) but interestingly most of the guests were foreign tourists.

I would love to go back. I can still vividly remember the taste in my mouth, which is very rare. If I get to stay in Osaka I would visit this restaurant multiple times. One day!

Leave a Reply

