Real Kobe Steak – Steak Land

2017 Apr 3

  • Visited: Monday 11:30 AM
  • Wait: 1 hour
  • Ordered: Kobe beef steak lunch
  • Price: JPY 3180 (~ USD 29)
  • Tip:
    • You can make reservations and not wait in the sun like I did.
  • Link: Tripadvisor

 

Getting There

Kobe is located between Himeji and Osaka and on the shinkansen line. It was only 15 minute ride from Himeji station and 25 minute ride from Osaka station. It’s covered under many JR passes.

 

Wait

The restaurant was located on a street with a bunch of other Kobe steak restaurants, and had a huge line. The line was very well-organized but was under the sun. Fortunately the weather was moderate when I went but it must be painful during summer. I originally wanted to go to Ishida, which is fancier, but they were full so I opted for Steak land instead. I was glad I came early because the line was already long.

2017-04-03 11.35.49

2017-04-03 12.16.35

 

Food

I ordered the Kobe beef steak lunch menu.

2017-04-03 12.32.13

2017-04-03 12.32.16

 

The waitress served side dishes first. Tsukemono (picked vegetable) was a little salty but I liked it. Salad was alright, pretty typical. They gave me two different sauce. The clear one tasted like some broth and the thick one was some kind of spicy BBQ sauce, which was really good but unlike anything I had had before.

2017-04-03 12.33.08

 

The cooking started about 15 minutes after ordering. It was entertaining to watch. It was pretty cool how they cut the meat as it is being cooked.

2017-04-03 12.46.29

 

After about 5 minutes the food arrived on my plate. Aaaah it melted in my mouth! The fattiness! The tenderness! I really didn’t have to chew much it was amazing. The steak actually tasted best without any sauce. I have had steak before but it was a completely different type of meat.

2017-04-03 12.47.18

 

The garlic chips were great, and the fried vegetables also had the right balance of salt, pepper, and the juice from the meat. The miso soup was a bit salty. I think the overall serving size was pretty small.

2017-04-03 12.48.05

 

I was given orange juice after the main meal. You can also get coffee instead.

2017-04-03 13.04.35

 

 

Thoughts

I have had Kobe beef in the U.S. but apparently those are not really from Kobe. I read that it’s hard to find real Kobe meat outside the city of Kobe itself because the quantity is so small. I’m really glad I got to try it because it tasted completely different from the steaks I had had before.

Kobe city itself doesn’t have much but it’s worth the trip just for the steaks. If I go again I would probably try to make a reservation at Ishida but I would love to come back to Steak Land as well.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tofu says:

    I will make this a to visit!!!! Steak land!!!

Leave a Reply

