Kyoto Teahouse – Ippodo Tea Company

2017 Apr 4

  • Visited: Tuesday 5 PM
  • Ordered: Ummon-no-mukashi, “finest matcha”
  • Price: JPY 1296 (~ USD 12)
  • Tip:
    • They have a store in Tokyo but the prices are much more expensive in Tokyo, close to twice the price.
    • If you drink the thick matcha, check the mirror often. Your lips will get stained green.
  • Link: Tripadvisor, Official website

 

I was looking forward to trying green tea in Japan. Even though all the restaurants serve green tea, there were few teahouses. Ippodo tea company was a premium tea store that offered tea tasting.

2017-04-04 17.07.24

2017-04-04 17.38.26

2017-04-04 17.10.02

 

After perusing the menu a little, I decided to order their most expensive matcha.

2017-04-04 17.08.40

 

They had two different types of confectionery and I asked for the soft one, which the waitress recommended. She also spoke very good English. The confectionery looked very pretty. It had red bean paste inside and I liked it. It went really well with the tea.

2017-04-04 17.17.02

2017-04-04 17.17.12

 

The tea itself came about 10 minutes after ordering. It first came out as koicha, which was more like a thick paste of tea powder than tea. The waitress told me it was 4 times as thick as regular matcha. It was a little bitter but very umami. It sure didn’t look very appetizing, though.

2017-04-04 17.19.48

 

After drinking koicha, the waitress took the bowl and made it into usucha, the regular density matcha. It had a very soft texture and I liked this much better than koicha.

2017-04-04 17.27.01

 

After paying I went to the restroom and when I looked into the mirror I saw a very distinct green line on my lips. VERY distinct. It was very embarrassing. I was glad I didn’t walk out of the teahouse like that though.

 

 

Thoughts

The service was really good and they had a great selection of premium green teas. It was quite pricey but for someone who enjoys tea this was a great experience. I didn’t know koicha existed even though I have had various match and matcha products before.

I ended up visiting Ippodo tea company again in Tokyo and was surprised to find that the price was close to twice as expensive. But I will visit again if I go back to Japan though.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

